Another Manly North

stats:

1.16.15

3 mi rt

gain: 907 ft

max: 1174 ft

gpx track, use at your own risk: Manly North

Manly North 1.16.15

While born in Texas, I grew up in Seattle so rain is in my blood which is a good thing otherwise I would never get outside during these Pacific NW winters.

I have classes on Fridays so I did not get to parking (N48 40.923 W122 23.596) until 2:30.  We, Miranda and I, headed up the road the quarter mile to where our new trail that mountain bikers made for us heads up into the woods.  This is a working tree farm and there are artifacts from different cycles of logging up there.

DSCN7197

I like to mess with the mountain bike people and often add to their piles of rocks and such, lets them know there are others that use this area.  I did take the time on this trip to stop and check out the pond areas on this portion of the trail to see if I could find any fairy shrimp (they are a real thing, I promise) or to see if by chance any really early long-toed salamanders egg masses had been laid.  Sadly, no.  I knew I was early but a girl can hope.

The ones building this trail have extended it a bit but still have a final connection to complete,  not sure how they are going to work it around that slash pile but I have found that they are a resourceful bunch.

We hit the road and followed it just a ways cutting over to where a pre-logging connector trail was and we roughed it a hundred feet or so and connected with the old trail.  Instead of coming directly down our normal way, we checked out some trails in progress, some re-established trails, and some new to me trails.  We ended up following a new to me trail down to Silver Creek then we headed up the service road back to the car.

This entry was posted in Local, Lookout Mnt., Manly North. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Manly North

  1. Pingback: 2015 | gambolingwithmonique

Leave a Reply

