Artist Point to Hundoon Point snowshoe

stats:

1.26.15

3.9 mi rt

gain: ~1000ft

max: 5266 ft

solo

gpx track, use at your own risk: Artist Point

artist point, huntoon point

Weather up high looked GOOD so after a lazy morning I decided to head up to the mountain for a short snowshoe.  The drive up was remarkable only in what was missing…SNOW!  At this time of the year I would expect there to be several feet along the road but today there was very little.  What the hey?  It was also incredibly warm, in the 50’s I was told, but there was a strong wind blowing but it was never uncomfortably cold and I never had more than a base and a down vest on.

pool of water in area above the upper parking area. So little snow.

pool of water in area above the upper parking area. So little snow.

But what was there was beautiful!

DSCN7283

DSCN7284 DSCN7280

I left the parking area (N48 51.688 W121 40.957) at 12:30 and headed up the Wild Goose trail.  The upper ski lifts were running but from what I could tell there was just one area with enough snow for the skiers/snowboarders to use.  It was a Monday but there were still a few die hards out there.  A few with snow shoes as well.

I followed the trail up to Artist point and finally got the views I was desiring.

DSCN7303

I still had plenty of daylight left so I headed out the Artist Ridge trail to Huntoon Point.  I only ran into two other groups as they were coming out so I had the area to myself.

On the way to Huntoon Point.

On the way to Huntoon Point.

Almost there

Almost there

I spent a little bit of time on top enjoying where I was and checking on a cache I have up there.

DSCN7308 DSCN7304

Going down as always was a lot quicker than up.  I was back to the car and down the mountain before dark.

DSCN7318 DSCN7326

I stopped at Graham’s in Glacier on my way out to check it out and chat with the new owners.  The folks from Chair 9 bought Grahams earlier this year when the previous owner decided to retire after many years of owning the place.  I know the Chair 9 people and they are quite nice and I am glad to see that they are keeping the place pretty much the same.

I made a video from the top of Huntoon Point, it is hard to turn 360 on snow shoes (:

video

This entry was posted in Local, Mt. Baker. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Artist Point to Hundoon Point snowshoe

  1. Pingback: 2015 | gambolingwithmonique

Leave a Reply

