Sauk with a side of Rockport 9.18.15

stats:

Rockport:

1.8 mi rt

gain: none

gpx track, use at your own risk: Rockport

Sauk:

3.8 mi rt

gain: ~1200 ft

max: 5466 ft

gpx track, use at your own risk: Sauk

Rockport 9.18.15 Sauk 9.18.15

Two years ago Washington State Parks celebrated their 100 years and asked geocachers to put 100 geocaches in 100 of the parks.  I placed and maintain the ones in Rockport and on Pilchuck Mnt.  The one in Rockport had been reported as missing so I drove out to replace it.

I made a loop of it on this ADA approved trail.  There used to be a campground here but it was closed down several years back due to safety issues with the old growth trees…either the campground had to go or the trees had to go.  They chose the campground.  I think they made the right decision.

P1010947

Since I was in the neighborhood I decided to go up Sauk Mnt.  The road to the trailhead is right at the start of the state park.  Parking is quite high at N48 31.275 W121 36.439.  The road in is good and any car should be able to make it up.

The trail starts off by switching (about 25) up a chute seen to the right on this next image.  P1010952

I have been up here several times in the past, it tends to melt out early, there used to be a fire lookout up here and we do butterfly surveys up here.

There were a lot of clouds so the views were local with a distant mountain making an appearance every now and then.

P1010957 P1010958 P1010960

It had started drizzling when I was about 1/2 way up the switchbacks and it continued to do so the rest of my visit.  When I was up at the old lookout site the moisture turned to hail so I did not stay long.  I find it somewhat peaceful to be up high on a mountain during weather, it means that I am often alone and there is a calmness in the air.

Once again, another great day to be out for a walk.  In fact, I have come to appreciate this whole walking thing quite a bit this year and any day out for a walk is a good one!

P1010965

This entry was posted in Hwy 20, Not local. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sauk with a side of Rockport 9.18.15

  1. Pingback: 2015 | gambolingwithmonique

Leave a Reply

